News Archive

CSB welcomes new chairperson

Sarah PashOn Wednesday, July 25, 2018, Cree beneficiaries in Eeyou Eenou Istchee elected Dr. Sarah Pashagumskum as the new Cree School Board (CSB) chairperson. She will replace outgoing chairperson Kathleen J. Wootton.

According to returning officer John Henry Wapachee, the results were as follows:

Robert Auclair


Sarah Pashagumskum


Kathleen J. Wootton 594

Sarah Pash (as she prefers to be called) holds a PhD in Education Success for First Nations Students, a Master’s degree in Education focused on Community and Parent Involvement, and two Bachelor degrees as well as certificates at the post-secondary level. Since 2015, she has served as the executive director at Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute in Oujé-Bougoumou, and currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Museums Association.

“I look forward to the inspiring discussions we will no doubt have in the coming weeks,” said CSB Director General Abraham Jolly. “Dr. Pash is not only knowledgeable, and extremely able, but deeply passionate about the education of our nation’s children. We will make a winning team.”

Plans are underway to swear-in Sarah Pash as the new CSB chairperson in early September.

“I am honoured that the people of our territory have given me the opportunity to help shape their children’s educational experience,” Pash said. “This will be an era in which we will not just make student success our priority, but also continually measure our own success, and adjust our course as necessary.”

Kathleen J. Wootton was first elected chairperson of the Cree School Board in 2011. During her seven-year tenure, she helped launch two integral working groups – one on the Cree Component of Education in Eeyou Eenou Istchee, and the other on the viability and shape of a new Cree Education Act. She has said she fervently hopes the work will move forward.