News Archive

Graduation rates continue to grow for Cree School Board

Graduation rates continue to grow

‘Tis the season of celebration in Cree School Board communities, as graduates of Secondary V finish one stage of their education, even as dozens of new students begin theirs.

Ceremonies will be held in the communities for the 94 students graduating from Secondary V.

CSB welcomes new chairperson

Sarah PashOn Wednesday, July 25, 2018, Cree beneficiaries in Eeyou Eenou Istchee elected Dr. Sarah Pashagumskum as the new Cree School Board (CSB) chairperson. She will replace outgoing chairperson Kathleen J. Wootton.

Final Chairperson nominees announced

Governance Elections

Chief Returning Officer John Henry Wapachee released the finall list of nominees for the 2018 election of the Cree School Board Chairperson.

The following nominees have confirmed their candidacy for the office of Chairperson:


Robert Auclair



Sarah Pashagumeskum



Kathleen Wootton


The election is scheduled for Wednesday July 25, 2018 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Advance polls will be held Thursday July 19, 2018 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two other names were nominated but did not accept the nomination: Clifford Loon and Kenny Loon.